Mortgage Law Changes
Summary of HB 106 of 2009
On July 30, 2008, President Bush signed into law H.R. 3221, which includes the Secure and Fair Enforcement of Mortgage Licensing Act, also known as the S.A.F.E. Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (http://kfi.ky.gov/Documents/SAFE%20Mortgage%20Licensing%20Act.pdf). The S.A.F.E. Act is part of the Housing and Economic Recovery Act.
Kentucky’s House Bill 106 (HB 106) was signed by Governor Steven L. Beshear on March 27, 2009. This bill brings Kentucky into compliance with the federal S.A.F.E. Act and includes a number of changes that affect the mortgage industry in Kentucky. Also please note: 

· A Kentucky Department of Financial Institutions (DFI) order of the commissioner dated Dec. 18, 2009, modifies KRS Chapter 286.8. The order states the dollar amount of required surety bonds for mortgage loan originators.

· An amended order of the commissioner dated Sept. 30, 2009, modifies KRS Chapter 286.8. The order establishes several dates critical to the registration of mortgage loan originators and processors.   

This document highlights some of the major changes, as well as implementation dates for some of the provisions required in HB 106 of 2009. It is not exhaustive or all-inclusive. The complete HB 106 can be read at http://www.lrc.ky.gov/record/09RS/HB106.htm and all provisions are now codified in KRS Chapter 286.8 at http://www.lrc.ky.gov/KRS/286-08/CHAPTER.HTM. 
General Information for Individuals (Mortgage Loan Originators and Processors)

1. The 12 hours of continuing education must be completed on an annual basis; thus, continuing education hours may not be carried over from one calendar year to the next.

2. Once every two years, at least four of the 12 required hours of continuing education must be completed in an area related to KRS Chapter 286.8 (the Mortgage Loan Company and Mortgage Loan Broker Act) and/or KRS 360.100 (Predatory Lending/High Cost Loans).

3. Temporary registrations will no longer be issued.  

4. Mortgage loan originators and mortgage loan processors must maintain a valid unique identifier number issued by NMLS to transact business in Kentucky. Additionally, the mortgage loan originators must show their unique identifier, name and signature on all mortgage loan applications, solicitations or advertisements, including business cards and websites.

5. To receive and maintain registration or renewal, an applicant:

· Must not have had his or her license or registration revoked in any jurisdiction; 

· Must not have been convicted, pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to a felony during the seven years preceding the date of application; and 

· Must not have ever been convicted of, pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to any felony involving an act of fraud or dishonesty, a breach of trust, or money laundering.

6. Mortgage loan originators are now required to be covered by a surety bond, either through their employer or independently, for their entire registration period. The bond cannot be terminated without 30 days prior written notice to DFI. For more information, read the order of the commissioner dated Dec. 18, 2009.

7. Mortgage loan originators and mortgage loan processors shall make available and grant access to the DFI commissioner or examiners all records in the originator's or processor's possession relating to its operations.

8. Mortgage loan originators and mortgage loan processors must never impede the DFI commissioner or examiners from interviewing any officers, principals, members, employees, independent contractors, agents or customers. 

9. The affairs and records of mortgage loan originators and mortgage loan processors are subject to periodic, special or other examinations at any time with or without notice.

10. Any order of suspension or denial of a registration to any applicant or registrant will be given in writing. The applicant or registrant, upon written request, will be entitled to a hearing. If the request is not received within 20 days of the notice, a final order will be issued to suspend or deny the registration.  
NOTE: Mortgage loan originators and processors were required to pass the national and state tests and submit an electronic background check through NMLS by June 30, 2010. Individuals who had an approved registration prior to this date but have not completed these requirements had their registration suspended. Individuals cannot originate or process loans until requirements are met and registration is reinstated. 
General Information for Entities

1. It is unlawful for a mortgage company to employ or use the services of a mortgage broker who is not licensed, with or without compensation.

2. The unique identifier (NMLS number), name and signature of the person originating the mortgage loan shall be clearly shown on the mortgage application. The unique identifier also shall be displayed on solicitations or advertisements, including business cards or websites.

3. A mortgage loan servicer must have a net worth of $100,000.

4. Each applicant for a mortgage loan broker license must have one managing principal at all times. This managing principal must have two years experience working in the mortgage industry. The mortgage broker must request written approval from the DFI commissioner prior to a change of the managing principal.  

5. Mortgage loan companies and mortgage loan brokers must submit an annual report of condition through NMLS.

6. Each mortgage company, mortgage loan broker and mortgage loan originator shall post or be covered by a surety bond, in the form prescribed by the DFI commissioner. The surety bond may not be terminated without 30 days written notice to the commissioner. The licensee may no longer use alternatives to surety bonds (for example, a letter of credit or escrow agreement).

7. DFI can take control of documents and records as deemed necessary for examination or investigative purposes.

8. It is unlawful for any person subject to investigation to knowingly withhold, abstract, alter, mutilate, destroy or secrete any books, records or other information.

General Information for Education Providers

1.  All pre-licensing and continuing education providers and courses must be approved by the NMLS. For details, go to the Course Providers page of the NMLS website (http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/courseprovider/Pages/default.aspx).   

2. All mortgage loan originators and processors applying for registration or renewal must meet the following minimum education requirements through NMLS-approved classes:

· New applicants must complete 20 hours of pre-licensing education as follows: 3 hours federal law, 3 hours ethics, 2 hours nontraditional mortgage, 12 hours undefined. 

· Renewing applicants must complete 12 hours of continuing education as follows: 3 hours federal law, 2 hours ethics, 2 hours nontraditional mortgage, 5 hours undefined.
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	DFI informed members of the Mortgage Bankers Association of Kentucky about federal S.A.F.E. Act/House Bill 106 changes at an Aug. 6 conference. Please note that this printable PowerPoint presentation [PDF 314KB] is not all-inclusive. 


	


